Skip to content

If an Employee Quits a Job Without Notice How Long Does the Employer Have to Pay the Last Wages

In California, if an employee resigns without giving advance notice, the employer is required to  provide the employee’s final paycheck on the last day of work or within 72 hours of the employee’s  resignation, whichever comes first. This applies to all earned and unpaid wages, including any  accrued but unused vacation or paid time off (PTO). 

If the employer fails to provide the final paycheck on time, the employee may be entitled to  additional remedies, including waiting time penalties. These penalties can amount to up to 30 days  of the employee’s average daily pay, and they are in addition to any wages or other damages owed. 

It’s important to note that there are some exceptions to the timing of final paycheck requirements in  certain situations, such as when an employee is terminated or when an employer has a regularly  scheduled payday that is no later than a certain number of days after the end of the pay period.  However, in most cases, an employer must provide the final paycheck immediately upon an  employee’s resignation without notice.

Why Wage And Hour Law?


Employment law can be complicated. However, if you feel that your employer owes you wages, then we want to hear from you. It’s that simple. To learn more about wage and hour class actions, and the other legal services we provide, call 855-924-3489. You may also contact us online to schedule an appointment.


Serving All of California

We represent clients in Bakersfield, El Centro, Fresno, Long Beach, Los Angeles, Oakland, Redding, Sacramento, Salinas, San Bernardino, Oakland, San Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, Santa Ana, Santa Barbara, Santa Rosa, Stockton, Van Nuys and throughout California.
Skip to content